Schools of Choice

The seven public school districts within St. Clair County participate in the contiguous and countywide Schools of Choice program each year as part of their continuing effort to provide quality education to all students.

This countywide Schools of Choice program allows parents and students to choose which public school they would like to attend regardless of where they live in St. Clair County.

Schools of Choice policies and guidelines

This document is designed to help parents learn about the Schools of Choice program, policies and procedures. Information about graduation requirements, application policies, timelines, athletics, and transportation are included.

Schools of Choice policies, guidelines, and highlights

2019-20 School of Choice Application

Forms cannot be accepted by RESA before July 8th. They are available at the RESA Administration Building, 499 Range Road, Marysville, MI 48040. Forms can be submitted between July 8 and July 22nd. All forms for the 2019-20 school year must be received by July 22nd at 4:00 p.m.

2019-2020 Schools of Choice dates


June 21, 2019 Districts will post which schools, grades have openings
June 30, 2019
RESA will place a notice in local newspapers
July 8, 2019 Application submission window opens
July 22, 2019 Application due to RESA by 4 p.m.
August 9, 2019

Review process completed by districts and parent notifications mailed
August 30 Capac & Yale complete waiting list review
September 6 Remaining 5 districts complete waiting list review

Parents are encouraged to visit the choice school prior to accepting the transfer. Schools may be contacted by interested parents to schedule a visit to your building.

Students do not need to reapply for admission to the same choice district each year once approved for transfer.


Schools of Choice coordinators by district

Algonac Community Schools
Al Latosz
(810) 794-9364

Capac Community Schools
Britt Urh-Moore
(810) 395-3705

East China School District
Lisa Volkman
(810) 676-1031

Marysville Public Schools
Michelle Nesbitt
(810) 455-6007

Memphis Community Schools
Laura Heilig
(810) 535-8227

Port Huron Area School District
Patie Bonnick
(810) 984-3101, ext. 3913

Yale Public Schools
Nancy Maplethorpe
(810) 387-3231, ext. 7263

St. Clair County RESA
Kris Murphy
(810) 455-4001