Skip To Main Content

Schools of Choice

The seven public school districts within St. Clair County participate in the contiguous and countywide Schools of Choice program each year as part of their continuing effort to provide quality education to all students.

This countywide Schools of Choice program allows parents and students to choose which public school they would like to attend regardless of where they live in St. Clair County.

Schools of Choice policies and guidelines

This document is designed to help parents learn about the Schools of Choice program, policies, and procedures. Information about graduation requirements, application policies, timelines, athletics, and transportation are included.

Schools of Choice policies, guidelines, and highlights

2022-23 Schools of Choice 2nd Semester Window is Closed

2022-23 Schools of Choice 2nd Semester Timeline
Nov. 8, 2022 Districts post which schools and grades have openings
Nov. 30, 2022 Applications will be accepted starting November 30, 2022
Dec. 14, 2022 Districts that are limited can accept applications until 4 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2022. Districts that are limited may accept applications through the first week of their second semester
Jan. 10, 2023 Districts have until Tuesday, Jan. 10, 2023 to review applications and determine which students will be accepted into the program
There is a dropbox in front of the RESA Administration Building. Applications can be dropped off contact-free by dropping them into the box. RESA staff retrieve applications at 3 p.m. Monday–Friday.
Schools of Choice coordinators by district

Algonac Community Schools
Al Latosz

Capac Community Schools
Britt Urh Moore

East China School District
Lisa Volkman

Marysville Public Schools
Michelle Nesbitt

Memphis Community Schools
Laura Heilig

Port Huron Schools
Donna Wininger
810-984-3101, ext. 3913

Yale Public Schools
Nancy Maplethorpe
810-387-3231, ext. 7263

St. Clair County RESA
Brenda Tenniswood